陆惠宏 (Tim)

CEO (首席执行官)

数字解调设计

无线通信系统的通信质量对Qi 充电系统的性能和可靠性至关重要。Qi采用带内通信系统,协议数据是叠加在功率信号上传输的。

与带外通信系统相比(如蓝牙,是一个使用不同的无线频率的独立通信器件),这种方法大大降低了系    统的整体成本。然而,电源信号的大电压,高次谐波会对通信的质量造成很大的影响。此外,数据的失真程度还受电池充电过程中不断变化的负载条件的影响。


通信质量差可能会导致电池充电中断,大大降低了用户体验。 因此,拥有一个强大且可以承受电力信号和负载的严重干扰和中断的解调设计是非常重要的。

数字解调器相对模拟解调器可以实现更好的性能。它也可以灵活地处理严重失真的信号,此次演讲中,我们将从频道状况,各种干扰来源及设计的挑战三个方面讲述来我们的设计是如何应对这些恶劣的环境。

 

Tim在电信,消费电子等行业拥有30多年的经验。 不管是系统或器件设计,还是战略营销及企业管理,他都非常的擅长。30多年来,他创立了多家公司,开发出多种不同的产品。

2006年初,他共同创立了位于中国深圳的Focaltech。他在开发和推广触摸传感器IC方面发挥了重要的作用,该公司于2013年成功上市。而后,他又创立了上海新捷电子有限公司,一家 专注于无线充电IC设计公司。

该公司已经开发了基于Qi标准的全系列产品:发射器和接收器IC,从低功率到中等功率。
Tim 于1973年在台湾国立交通大学获得学士学位。他还拥有加州大学伯克利分校电机工程的博士学位。

Our websites use cookies on your device to give you the best user experience. By using our websites, you agree to the placement of these cookies. To learn more, read our privacy policy.

Tim Lu

CEO NewEdge Technologies, Inc.

A digital demodulator design  for Qi

The communication quality is vital for the performance and reliability of Qi wireless charging systems. Qi adopts in-band communication systems, where protocol data is transferred on top of the power signal. This method greatly reduces the overall system cost compared with out-of-band communication systems, where a separate communication device, such as Bluetooth, is used on a different radio frequency.

For in-band systems, however, power signals have great impacts on the communications quality due to its power level, and high order harmonics. In addition, the data integrity is affected by the load condition, which is ever changing during the battery charging process.

A poor communication quality may result in interruptions and drop-outs for battery charging, which in turn will degrade the user experience. Therefore, it is important to have a robust demodulation design, which can sustain severe interference and interruptions from the power signal and the load. 

Digital demodulator is known to be able to achieve better performance than its analog counterpart. It also offers flexibilities in dealing with severe signal distortions. In this speech, we describe the channel conditions, various interference scenarios, and design challenges. Our design approach to combat these severe environment is then presented.

 

Tim has over 30 years of experience in various industries, from Telecommunications to Consumer Electronics. His expertise ranges from detailed system and device designs to strategic marketing to corporate management. Over the past 30 years, he has started a number of companies developing various products.

In early 2006, he co-founded Focaltech Systems based in Shenzhen China, He was instrumental in developing and promoting the touch sensor ICs, which resulted in the IPO in 2013. He then founded NewEdge Technologies, Inc., a company focusing on the wireless charging IC development based in Shanghai. This company has developed a full line of products based on Qi standards for both transmitter and receiver ICs, from low power to medium power.

Tim has a Bachelor’s degree from National Chiao Tung University in Taiwan in 1973. He also has a Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from University of California, Berkeley, in 1983.